Flash Fiction: Frozen (100)

Standard

Image Prompt Supplied by Madison Woods for the 100-Word Flash

This is where I live.

It is cold.

And ancient now.

 

Sometimes my eyelashes freeze and I pinch my fingers round them when I am back inside with my gloves off.

 

But me? I don’t miss wet dew or soft grass that crushes and never breaks underfoot.

I don’t miss leafy trees or blooming shrubs.

I miss only the gently drifting snow, the sharp sun of new morning.

 

A snowing cold is not so lonely. Even pale sun, it needn’t be bright…but this frozen monotony, this always-frost, this gray…

I am just tired. I am tired and going to sleep.

 

For more stories prompted by this image, visit Madison Woods and explore the rest of the Friday Fictioneers!

12 responses »

    • Yeah, I think it’s not something that would work every time. But I was going for that poetic/lyrical feel and so I do think the spacing helped. Thanks for reading and for the comment — I’m glad you felt like it worked!

I Will Definitely Read What You Write Here

