Flight by Self[ish]

Standard

I went from there –

the past,

a different self –

to here,

hardly thinking it would matter.

 

In between is always easier.

Maybe I should have known.

 

I imagined myself found.

I imagined myself.

 

Dreams are appearing

in front of me

on the ocean

like fireflies in the night.

 

How did I get from there

to here?

 

I remember you asking

when I would be back.

 

I told you I was back

already

but when you misheard

I did not repeat.

 

Now here is there

and you are you

but unremembered.

 

If I had a million wings I would sew them to my body and fly away again.

4 responses »

    • Do you remember that character in one of the Madeleine L’Engle books who was round and had all the shifting wings? I can’t remember what it was called, but if I were that, I would be home in a minute.

I Will Definitely Read What You Write Here

