250-word essays, Merry Christmas

Standard

I have written nine. I will post the rejects later, after I turn in my application, maybe just to make up for the fact that I have been writing them instead of posting here.

It will be an opportunity for everyone to exercise grandma’s lesson: “if you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all” because writing nine 250-word essays all attempting to convince a prestigious law school that it should admit you is sort of like hanging from a tree by your toenails for 20 minutes at a time. The terrible part is that you think you’ve done your last twenty minutes and then some evil person (like that family member or friend who has generously devoted time to helping edit your work) tells you it’s time to reattach your toenails to the branch and you have to do it because you know they’re right.

There’s a chance this metaphor doesn’t work because hanging from tree branches by your toe nails doesn’t have much of an end-product besides a headache and emotional trauma.

The point is that everyone should be nice and ooh and ahh over the various attempts I made at trying to make myself sound smart, my life sound interesting, and my arguments sound. (See? that was funny — you didn’t know I was going to use ‘sound’ as an adjective there).

Anyway. Seasonal greeting time, right? Well, uh… Merry Christmas! And Happy Hanukkah! And… GO NEW YEAR’S!

3 responses »

  1. Totally bonkers stressful. Pretty hard to cram all that a person is in 250 words. (And who knows what they are looking for – what image or phrase will result in a nod). So much on the line. It’s done. Try to get some sleep. Good luck in the new year.

I Will Definitely Read What You Write Here

