The Driveway (100)

Standard

This image was provided by Madison Woods as inspiration for the Friday Fictioneers

Growing up, I lived in a house with a driveway stretching long and uphill to the main road. It was a streak of pavement that turned bright and dark after snow dusted it and sun melted dust to black. When snow was heavy, I wore boots and learned to shovel it in two strips with my Dad.

But sometimes ice settled anyway. If guests couldnโ€™t drive themselves out, it was my Mom who came out to sit upright behind their wheel. We pushed, of course, but my Mom could drive out of anything โ€“ which is probably a metaphor for something.

For more flashes prompted by this photo, and to learn more about flash fiction, visit Madison Woods and go exploring.

26 responses »

    • Always glad to restore hope — your piece wasn’t especially nostalgic, but I always get impatient with more than 100 words of nostalgia, so I guess I’m glad about that ๐Ÿ™‚

  1. I think the metaphor comes through loud and clear. Thought provoking story, and a nice ode to all those moms who can drive themselves out of anything!

    Well done… ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. LOL, and the metaphor is right on the tip of my tongue but I can’t place it…I know I’ve heard it before. Yes, the last line clinched the story perfectly ๐Ÿ™‚ I am so thankful I don’t have to shovel our driveway, though!

    Now I’m going to find your pictures ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I also loved the metaphor line you delivered at the end- it had a real snap to it that got my attention. The whole feel of the piece feels comfortable and that one bit makes you wonder what the mom had to face next. Very strong piece. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thanks for reading and commenting — did you participate in the prompt? (if yes I don’t want to leave you hanging comment-less, but I couldn’t see for sure when I visited your blog). But thanks so much either way and happy blogging!

  4. Very interesting, and a good idea. It captures our (my) interest because it is grounded in your own experience. That’s good. I had difficulty navigating the second sentence, “…turned bright and dark after snow dusted it and sun melted dust to black.” Too many opposites in there, bright, dark, sun, black, to make it flow smoothly into my little brain! All leading to that funny last sentence, which everyone, myself included, liked.

  5. Good story! Like many others, I especially liked the metaphor one. Moms are just Wonder women in disguise ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Cheers,
    Cae

    • I think you’ve identified why it works — I’m sure I wouldn’t have quite put my finger on it otherwise. Thank you! I’ll look forward to reading yours.

I Will Definitely Read What You Write Here

