Old Poems Posted (3) “Casting”

Standard

1

Vision – like drawing a picture, or doodling, you have an idea how it will look, even a precise image imagined. But rarely does it go very smoothly. If you cannot adjust to a bump in the paper or a twitch of your own hand, then you cannot finish. You must find a way to include mistakes in the final product. You must learn to work through them. Sometimes it exceeds all expectations, even those of its creator.

2

My dreams like water
dripping from my outstretched hands.
Wet hands.
I remember
without pain
what ache is.
This indecision.
No aspirations can be
separate from childhood,
from parental input.
No collaboration
can dim the floodlights
on a mistake.
On fire.
My promise to myself
is an abstract on life.

What is the long run anyway?

3

Never keep secrets too long
inside, to must
to memory’s withering.

A mouth opening
closing, a fish spitting
thoughts wide

reality shelved temporarily
self-interest on pause
leaves us feeling emphatic

out-of-place.
I hear my voice in the abyss
and all the attention paid
crashes and echoes.

2 responses »

    • Oh, thank you sweet lady! I think that might have been my favorite as well, but the others felt like they belonged. Ooh… I should probably do some editing.

I Will Definitely Read What You Write Here

