Shiver

Standard

Shiver

Step up or back. Step right –
wrong.
Step into gray.
Stay asleep. Hide.
Stay away. But not unfound.
Not too far.

Under shocked white –
whiter than clouds in the Big Sky –
greener than fresh
cut sharp hay –
blacker than moonlit Stillwater, oiled
flowing,
I am waiting.

My sweat drying, a shower delayed,
I await varicose veins
burn my throat
on alcohol, unidentified.
Peer through the ground floor
window; step up.
Dream in shades of white
oiled and cut; stay asleep.

Not too far.

2 responses »

  1. I like that one. I’m only just starting some poetry myself, and therefore just learning on that front so it’s interesting to read what others come up with – very good.

I Will Definitely Read What You Write Here

