Beautiful (102)

Standard

This image was provided by Madison Woods as inspiration for the Friday Fictioneers

I said it was beautiful, but she thought I meant she was beautiful. She was, of course. But when she kissed me I reeled, surprised that I might have elicited this; that she might have thought me worth the kiss.

I tangled fingers in her hair – women have long hair, I thought – and I wondered what it would mean to do this and mean it. But I was only looking at the sky, don’t you know? I was only considering a backlit branch when you instructed me in the contour of lips, when you taught me how it felt to be tall.

For more flashes prompted by this image, and to learn more about flash fiction, visit Madison Woods and explore the Friday Fictioneers.

36 responses »

    • Ahh, I’m glad you liked it Doug. I wasn’t sure where to go, but it seemed romantic enough for a mistaken romance, right? I’m late on comments because of my trip to Finland, but glad to be making the rounds today.

    • Thank you, Sandra! I’m glad that line was interesting to you. I felt a little like I was casting in the dark, but it means a lot to know what captured people’s imaginations and why.

    • You’re too kind, Carlos. I missed last week, so maybe I was trying to make up for it? Ha… well, I only hope I can get this sort of reaction again at some point!

    • Haha! I’m glad this piece did that for you! It’s so interesting what people take out of it — obviously we can’t expect everyone to understand/connect with everything we write, but your comment is right in line with my intentions and so I’m happy that at least you and Carlos and a few others seemed to “get” it. On may way to read yours 🙂

    • AW! I love the word “mood” here. Don’t know why, and also the song reference. What a fun comment, Lindaura. What the hell is going on here? Honestly… I have no idea. Sometimes, it just is what it is, right? Haha.

      Heading your way now.

    • Thanks so much, Lisa! I love Star Trek, so I can get down with that comparison — and I think you’re hitting on something important there: it is a very removed/distant narrator. Thank you! Heading your way next.

  1. I loved the accidental education he got from his musing about the beauty of my accidentally backlit branches 😉

    • Thank you, Lora! I absolutely take it as a compliment, if only because I’m hoping that the pieces can be put together most of the time — and sometimes can’t (although I hope I know when they can’t, you know, because otherwise I’m just being convoluted, haha). Looking forward to yours!

    • I like what you’re thinking here. There’s a definite intentional sense of distance or disconnection between the two people and what you’re suggesting gets at that very closely. Also, I’m sure you’re selling yourself short, but I’m going to read yours now and will surely enjoy it either way 🙂

    • I hadn’t made it to yours yet, but I just did and commented and enjoyed it! (Was running late this week).

      Thanks, as always, for the thoughtful comment and visit. Looking forward to Friday again soon 🙂

I Will Definitely Read What You Write Here

