Unlikely (101)

Standard

This image was provided by Madison Woods as inspiration for the Friday Fictioneers

My dad showed me how to pluck berries from among the thorns, how to gather the precise right amount for a single emergency pie, how to stir the cornstarch with mashed ones and sugar until it thickened. We used oreo crusts and a layer of cream cheese between crust and filling. I was the best picker because I wouldn’t eat them; I had strategies for efficiency and fastidious concentration.

Something is unlikely about it.

In sports I have always been distractible. I am clumsy even with furniture, let alone thorns. I eat small things impulsively.

Yet raspberries, somehow, I can pick.

For more flashes prompted by this image, and to learn more about flash fiction, visit Madison Woods and explore the Friday Fictioneers.

26 responses »

  1. Love the appellation ‘lime’! People are such fascinating bundles of contradiction, and here, the great picker of raspberries who runs into furniture and can’t play sports, yes! I believe it, it matches a couple of people I know who are great at one thing, but bumble through everything else. Wish I know why this particular feat matters so much to the narrator. The pie or the dad or something/someone else’s approval long ago? Nice piece! Lorelei
    http://www.westcoastwriters.blogspot.com

  2. Great narrative. There is something amazing about ripe berries – one whiff of them and I am back in the brambles as a child, picking earnestly, hearing them thunk into the container. They smell like warm, sweet sunshine….mmmmm. Mine is here: http://wp.me/p1Wqon-bl

  3. As I walk the dogs around our property, I eagerly await the ripening of the berries…first the salmonberries, then the blackcaps, red raspberries, and brambleberries. I make a lot of cobbler, but never a pie with a cream cheese layer. That sounds amazing…and as delicious as your story. I love how your character is able to shine in this one area…

    ~Susan (www.susanwenzel.com)

  4. I can never get home with even one raspberry left. So, of course I’ve not yet had the raspberry pancakes I’d so love to have, lol. I wait all year for them and by the time they’re ready, I’m way beyond patient.

I Will Definitely Read What You Write Here

